Penne with roasted grape tomatoes and capers

1 box penne pasta, cooked according to package directions
2 Pints grape tomatoes
½-3/4 cup capers (depending on how much you enjoy the taste of capers!)
¼ cup olive oil
½ cup freshly grated parmesan cheese
sea salt and black pepper
crushed red pepper flakes

 Tomatoes are still all around – and when I passed by these perfectly sized grape tomatoes in the store I couldn’t resist.  Roasting the grape tomatoes really brings out the sweetness in this recipe, and it couldn’t get any easier to make.  I adapted this recipe from Giada De Laurentiis

  •  Preheat oven to 400 degrees. 
  • Rinse grape tomatoes.  If they are large, cut in half.  If you are lucky and find smaller ones, leave them whole, and this makes it even easier! 
  • Place tomatoes in a medium sized oven proof glass roasting pan. 
  • Rinse capers and add to the tomatoes. 
  • Drizzle with olive oil. 
  • Crack some fresh pepper and sea salt over top and give a good mix. 
  • Roast in the oven for about 40 minutes.  You will see the tomatoes wrinkle up and release their juices.

When the pasta is done, drain, but be sure to reserve bout ½ cup of pasta water (just in case).  Place penne in a large bowl.  Top with tomato mixture, which usually has enough of its own juice so you probably won’t need the pasta water.  Mix.  Add the parmesan cheese and mix again.  Sprinkle with crushed red pepper flakes. 

 Now here is where I went wrong – I forgot to buy parsley.  I usually always have parsley on hand, but not this time.  At this point I would add about a cup of chopped parsley, or any fresh herb you have on hand.  It is good with it, it is also good without it.  I haven’t cooked this in so long, and I asked myself “why?!” last night, because it is really that simple and that good!

6 comments on “Penne with roasted grape tomatoes and capers

  1. Joanna Jean says:

    Ohhh I want, I want, I want!

  2. Kristy says:

    My husband would love this dish. I’m not a huge fan of capers, but he can eat them by the jar full! I do love the tomatoes in this and how simple the ingredients are – so fresh! I imagine that it’s very flavorful!

    • jmramos23 says:

      My fiance loves the capers – this is the only dish besides picatta that I can really think to use them in! You could always do a his and hers version – yours with no capers and add some garlic cloves or other yummy treats!

  3. Caroline says:

    I love pasta in general, but this dish sounds great. Capers are a nice touch!

Leave a Reply

