Full Plate

My plate has been full this week, and not just with food.  I have been getting ready for the school year to start back up and setting up my classroom/prepping/trying to get everything I can into order.  I still sometimes feel like I’m missing or lacking so much – but I’m excited for the year to start with some new kiddos and to enjoy myself doing what I love, besides cooking, teaching. 

I say my plate is full – but what I really mean is… my new lunchbag is full! Last weekend on a family trip to Lake George, my mother in law (to be!) got matching lunchbags for me and my sister in law (also to be!).  Go figure… I could never find a lunchbag big enough to hold all of my snacks – until now.  To put the size into perspective, it is not called a lunchbag, but dubbed a “market bag” as the description stated “fits most watermelons”. I have taken it with me every day this week, and it has served me well.

I love you lunchbag

Fill me up buttercup
 

I frequently visit many cooking blogs and came across a chicken tender recipe that sounded great – I added the flax seeds and Asian stir fry oil to make it my own, and I was not disappointed. 

Sesame Tenders

 Chicken tenders (I used 8 for 2 people)
2 eggs, beaten
1 cup panko bread crumbs
¼ cup sesame seeds
¼ cup ground flax seeds
olive oil (or Asian stir fry oil)
soy sauce for drizzling at the end

  • Heat oil on medium heat in a large sauté pan.  I used an Asian stir fry oil infused with ginger – makes all the difference – but you could use olive oil as well.
  •  In a large bowl, mix together panko, sesame seeds, and flax seeds.  Clean and dry chicken tenders.  Dip tenders into the egg batter and then dredge into panko mixture. 
  • Drop tenders into the pan, sauté on each side for about 4 minutes or until cooked through.  Drizzle with soy sauce.

    Side of Soba

     Spicy Peanut Soba Noodles
    1 small red pepper, cut into thin strips
    1 large carrot, grated
    2 green onions, diced
    1 package of wheat soba noodles
    ½ cup peanut butter
    ¼ cup soy sauce
    ¼ cup chicken stock
    crushed red pepper flakes (eye-ball – depending on how spicy you like your food)
    1 garlic clove, minced
    ½ cup peanuts, roughly chopped

  •  Slice the pepper and green onions, grate the carrot, and place in a large bowl.
  • Cook the Soba noodles according to package directions.  Drain and run under cold water to cool to room temperature.  Pour into the bowl with the pepper mixture.
  • In a separate bowl, whisk together minced garlic, peanut butter, soy sauce, chicken stock, and pepper flakes.  Remember you can always add more pepper flakes but can never remove them!  Pour the peanut sauce over the noodles and mix together.  Top with chopped peanuts. 

Someone (I won’t name names, but I only live with one person so if you know me you can probably figure this out) seemed to turn his nose up at the “room temperature noodles” for just a second.  No, it’s not exactly pasta, so it is not served hot.  He ate and enjoyed them all the same.  “Different, but tasty” was the verdict.  I think they are worth a try.

One more recipe before I go… This is another recent favorite – very quick, very easy – I can’t stress how easy.  It’s like chicken parm, minus the marinara sauce and add the roasted red pepper. 

Roasted pepper parm with a side of wheat pear couscous

Red Pepper Chicken Parm (sort of – because it’s really mozzarella!)
chicken cutlets
Olive oil for sauteing (about two or three turns of the pan)
1 cup of Italian seasoned bread crumbs
1 egg beaten
Good quality fresh roasted red peppers, sliced
Fresh (I stress fresh) ball of mozzarella cheese, sliced thin

  • Heat olive oil over medium heat.
  • Set the oven on broil.
  • Clean and dry chicken cutlets.  Use a meat pounder to pound chicken to desired thinness.  Dip in egg mixture, then dredge in bread crumbs.
  • Saute chicken in oil until cooked through, about 4 minutes per side.
  • Place chicken cutlets on a pan.  Top with slices of roasted red pepper.  Top with mozzarella.
  • Broil until cheese is melted and slightly browned.
  • Top with pepper, crushed red pepper flakes, or basil – or like me, all three!

If you are wondering what was for dessert, I was a repeat plum dandy offender.  My ever so sweet, understanding of my needs/picky food compulsions, handsome fiance drove me all the way to Saratoga to indulge on my last night of summer vacation. 

vanilla fro yo topped with fresh fruit

 

My view while savoring my frozen yogurt - proof that fall is here when the sky turns this shade of dark at 7:45

With all the prepping for school, I have purchased some Melissa and Doug (I’m newly obsessed) food toys for the class.  I love food – including the wooden toys for children type!  I got the doughnuts, tiered cake, and fruit cutting kit – so adorable I could almost eat them up.  Check them out online if that’s your thing!

2 comments on “Full Plate

  1. Jenny says:

    love your blog! had a great time w/ your mom & brent this past weekend in CO!

    xo, jenny

Leave a Reply

